Posted by: themeditationmind | March 1, 2009

Meditation to Connect with God

Meditation is fascinating because it is helpful in almost any of life’s situations.  It can help you sleep, focus, heal, and achieve your dreams.  However, the most important benefit of meditation is that it can connect you with God at any time.

Since a connection with God is a personal affair, I can only tell you about my experiences, and ways that may help you have a similar experience.  I’ve always believed I did not need to be in an “official place of worship” to communicate with God.  This belief became validated when I started practicing meditation.  I am able to withdraw from the outside world and feel a connection to something far greater than anything that can be found in my daily activities.

My personal experience of connection to God starts as a physical sensation somewhere in the area of the base of my brain and the middle of my throat and the center of my chest.  As my mind quiets and thoughts drift away, I feel a surge of love and happiness in these areas.  Sometimes I can get lost in the sensation and it starts to grow.  While the feeling grows, my mind begins to expand outward in every direction, almost like how a fog expands over a lake.  In the expansion, at the edges of the “fog” that is somehow connected to feelings in my body, I feel incredible.

This experience can go on for quite awhile, or it might just last 2 minutes..  Or my conscious mind will start weighing in with commentary about the situation, which starts to diminish the experience.  My conscious mind might say “Hey wait a minute, you are expanding all over the place, you won’t be able to return!” and then I will panic and immediately snap back to attention in the room I’m in. 

Each time has a different quality, intensity, duration, and feeling.  But when I am back in “reality” in the room I am in, there are indisputable internal feelings are of great peace, calm and connection.  I know in my mind and my heart that I have connected to something greater, and that knowledge helps me to spend my day happy, calm, and mentally refreshed.

If that sounds good to you, the next question will be “How can I get some of that!?”  There are a wide variety of meditation styles and techniques.  It can take time to find the practice that works best for your mind and life situation.  I will share with you a simple and fast process that works well for me.  I learned this process from Gary Renard, a teacher on my website www.TheMeditationMind.com.  I am adding more detailed commentary at the beginning for those that are not as familiar with a meditative state.

Gary starts his meditation by saying “Get in a meditative state”.  If you are an experienced meditator, use your process of your choice to reach that state and jump to the next paragraph.  Otherwise, keep reading this paragraph.  Close your eyes and mouth, and begin focusing on your breathing through your nose.  Let the inhales and exhales be of natural duration, do not attempt to control the length in any way.  As you let go of that control, notice how on an inhale the  air enters your noise, flows down your throat, and expands your chest.  On an exhale, your chest falls, the wind comes rushing your windpipe, you hear it gust as it hits your nasal passages, and out it goes into the air.  Simply follow the air as your breathing happens naturally for 3-10 breaths, however long it takes for you to notice you are calm and thinking less (or hopefully not at all).

Now picture a beautiful and pristine white light coming towards you.  It is a loving, warm, soothing, enticing, healing light.  As it gets nearer to you, you notice it goes on forever, it is everywhere. It is now surrounding you in a warm embrace, it is everywhere and it goes on forever. 

Picture in your mind an altar appearing before you.  Put anything on the altar that you think needs to happen in order for you to be happy.  All your goals, plans, relationships, and things that you desire.  You are not giving them up physically, just your psychological attachment to them.  Don’t over think this, just put them on the altar.  Now turn away from the altar as it disappears into God.   And now we disappear into God.

Just for an instant, it may feel like you are giving something up.  But now appearing in God, in spirit, you realize you didn’t give up anything, because you are now being given everything.  You exchanged something limited for something with no limit.  You go on extended in God’s love forever.  Nothing is missing, everything is whole and complete.  You are now exactly the same as God, extending everywhere perfectly.

Father, I love you.  I thank you for creating me to be exactly the same as you.  There is no difference between us in Heaven, for we are one.  Thank you for caring and providing for me.  There can be no scarcity in fullness.  There can be nothing missing in oneness.  Everyone I have ever known and cared about is here, because we are together as one.  Thank you father for this amazing experience of being with you together, I can never lose it.  Now we go on forever, and get lost in Your Love.  Thank you.

Spend the next 5 minutes silently joined God’s light and love.


Leave a comment

Categories